patsycat scratches

May 13, 2010

I support the Murray State News

Filed under: Uncategorized — patsycat @ 8:12 am

I had to add my voice. The following is my letter to Dr. Randy Dunn, Murray State president. If you haven’t read the section that started it all: http://bit.ly/dmYJDE – the special “SEXtion” is filled with stories that illustrate the need for personal responsibility, and is not in fact a salacious crumb. It also addresses topics of interest to students.

Dear Dr. Dunn,

Although I now live elsewhere, I am a proud product of Murray, Ky – a graduate of both Murray High and Murray State who frequently returns to visit my family and my husband’s (he’s also a Murray High and Murray State grad). I have also served as an undergraduate and, later, as an adult student on The Murray State News; as a staff writer and copy editor for a professional newspaper; as a copy editor for a publishing company; and as Senior Director of Content for Cincinnati’s public television station. At one point in my career I advised a high school student newspaper.

The News is a student-run newspaper by students for students. If its staff gets negative feedback from those not in their primary target audience, the staff has to learn to deal with that like any newspaper staff does. There’s really no reason for the Regents to take any action at all. I’m disturbed that they feel the need to step in. If a media outlet loses a point of distribution (I believe it was a place of business that complained in addition to some readers), then it decides how to deal with that. When news or media organizations plan these issues, they are not taking it lightly. They know they’ll get feedback. These students are big kids and they can deal with it. They better, because it’s not going to get any easier. They need to learn to make decisions and understand why they make them. And the Regents need to concentrate on what they can and need to influence.

I thank you for your well-reasoned comments to the Board of Regents at the onset of the situation. Please add my comments to the number who support the The News, its adviser, and the University as a place for learning and exchange of ideas and information, even outside the classroom. Please convey my comments either individually or aggregated with others to the the Regents at your convenience.

Best regards,
Patsy (Crawford) Carruthers
Murray State University, BA Journalism/English ’86

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.